Following the pressure from public for more districts, the Telangana state government on Monday agreed to consider the demand for four more districts. The government stated that is still open to make changes in the proposals. Receiving demands from various regions, Chief Minister of Telangana, K Chandrasekhar Rao, decided to consider the demands for three districts, Jangaon in existing Warangal district, Sircilla in Karimnagar and Gadwal in Mahabubnagar.

According to reports, the Chief Minister met the ruling party leaders of Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda, Ranga Reddy, Nizamabad and Medak districts on Sunday and from Karimnagar, Warangal, Adilabad, Khammam and Hyderabad on Monday to discuss the issue of re-organisation of districts. The Government had also decided to sanction 1.5 crore each to the newly proposed district for constructing collectorates and district police headquarters.

The government had last month issued draft notification for creating 17 new districts and had sought suggestions from people. With large number of representations being received for additional districts, the government decided to increase the number. The state government after it’s initial announcement received 92,513 objections and suggestions from the public on re-organisation of districts in September.

The Chief Minister on Monday also directed officials to study the proposal of creating another district in existing Adilabad with Asifabad as the headquarter. Thus Adilabad is proposed to be divided into four districts. This will take the total number of districts in the country’s youngest state to 31. The new districts will come into existence from Dussehra. The Chief Minister accepted the growing demand for creating a district in the existing Karimnagar district with Sircilla as the headquarter. This district will be named as Rajanna. It was also decided to name proposed Kuttagudem district in existing Khammam district as Bhadradri Kuttagudem.