Telangana will have about 27 districts from the Dussehra this month as the TRS government in the state has embarked on their massive re-organisation and also revenue divisions and other administrative units. Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao has identified re-organisation of districts as one of the measures to be taken up, along with revival of ancient water bodies, as an administrative reform required in public interest. Telangana came into existence on June 2, 2014 as the 29th state in the country.

The state government had constituted a committee headed by Chief Secretary Rajiv Sharma to go into the issue of re-organisation of districts. It is now proposed that the number of districts would go up to 27 from the present 10. Similarly, the government is also re-organizing revenue divisions and mandals.

Chief Minister Chandrasekhar Rao has started consultations with his party leaders from the districts to get their feedback from the ground on the issue. He held talks with Telangana Rashtra Samithi leaders from Mahabubnagar, Nalgonda, Rangareddy, Nizamabad and Medak districts on Sunday. Speaking in a meeting, he said the government is still open to make changes in the proposals on the constitution of districts, divisions and mandals, a release from his office said. The re-organisation of districts has attracted sharp criticism from main Opposition Congress and others. Hitting out at the ruling TRS, Congress and other Opposition parties alleged that the state government is going about the exercise as per its political advantage.